The Livery Hall at 81 Coleman Street is owned by the Worshipful Company of Armourers and Brasiers. The Company acquired the freehold in 1424. The Hall survived the Great Fire of 1666, which was halted a few yards to the south by a combination of good fortune and the efforts of the people of Coleman Street Ward. It was completely rebuilt in 1839 to become the beautiful listed building to be seen today with its stunning blend of 16th and 17th Century armour, weapons and paintings.
On the 29th December 1940, during a major blitz on London, the surrounding area was devastated, but again the Hall survived. The Company is much indebted to an unknown fireman who, seeing the curtains of the Court Room ablaze, broke into the Hall and extinguished the flames. Although his identity may never be known, his quick thinking undoubtedly saved the Hall.
In 1322, the Guild of St George of the Armourers was instituted and King Henry VI presented the Armourers with their first Royal Charter in May 1453. The Company's present Charter was granted in 1708 by Queen Anne, giving the Brasiers (workers in brass and copper), equal status with the Armourers.
The Armourers' Hall can be hired for private events and the Coleman Street Ward Club is a regular visitor. Click here for further information.